Review by J. P.
Ottawa, KS, on May 05, 2018
Horrible experience. Roofers did not even show up on the first scheduled day, and no one from the company informed me beforehand. The company showed up late for many appointments. My prior roof had open metal valleys, but the new roof was done with closed valleys, without my knowledge or consent. After...
Response from Kansas Quality Roofing
May 05, 2018
You had a representative on site throughout the entire project. You were present throughout much of the project as well. We had a miscommunication on scheduling. Weather was also a big factor during the process. We wanted to schedule it for a Saturday, but I felt like you were upset with that when we spoke, so we opted to wait until after the weekend to start the project. I am very sorry that you were not informed of that change in real time.
When we meet with every client before we sign contracts, we go over the roofing system in the exact same way every time and break down all of the components. When we do that, we explain that the valleys are closed with an ice and water barrier membrane liner just as the product literature shows. Throughout the entire project, throughout multiple visits from myself, and throughout weeks and even months after the project, you never had an issue with the valley method. This is well documented, as is every project that we work on.
It is a normal part of the process for there to be a "punch list" after the completion of the project. Your punch list included replacing shingles that had chalk on them from a chalk line, which would have washed away over the course of time on their own; and attempting to correct an issue in your roof deck which is a structural issue beyond the scope of our work. We did all of this in as timely a manner as possible, certainly in a reasonable amount of time. We also installed a bit of concrete fiber board siding on a portion of the home between two roof slopes, free of charge, and were glad to do so to finish off our work properly. Neither one of these issues were things that stuck out to me as problematic, but we did take care of them when you took issue with them. When I was finished you smiled, shook my hand, apologized for giving us a hard time particularly our office manager, and told three of us who were present at completion that you were happy with the result.
The issue with the valleys, nor any real complaints, did not arise until it was time for payment. I asked for no money up front, and only asked for the available funds once you told me you were happy with the work, as is our process every single time. We then waited over three months for your final payment to arrive from insurance and did not press for payment until you notified us that you had received the remaining balance. It was at this time that you really started in on the valley method we used and making it out to be that we did you wrong in some way. There is only one real conclusion that I can draw from that behavior pattern.
Your Construction Service Agreement contains your statement of warranty. We send the invoice to the manufacturer. I know you received a "paid" invoice also. All is well there. You have never asked me for warranty paperwork, but I would be glad to make you something additional for your warranty if you would like.
I apologize that you did not have an ideal experience. We help a reasonable volume of clients and almost always have a good or great end-result. We did everything we said we would do, took care of all issues that came up, we have been paid in full for our work, and you have a Lifetime Workmanship Warranty on all of the work that we performed for you as detailed in the Statement of Warranty in your Construction Service Agreement. Please contact me as soon as possible if you would like me to provide something additional as proof of your warranty.
Kansas Quality Roofing